The Soul of Power (2019)

Book Three in the Waking Land trilogy

“Bates brilliantly concludes an impressive high fantasy trilogy with this tale of scheming and magic.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"An excellent and exciting conclusion to an outstanding romantic fantasy trilogy. ... Highly recommended." —Library Journal (starred review)

Sophy Dunbarron is the daughter of a rebel, and now she's ascended to the throne of Eren and Caeris. But ruling a kingdom is harder than claiming it. With adversaries opposing her every move, Sophy must fight for her kingdom--and for the dangerous secret she's carrying.


Available Now!

The Waking Land Trilogy

The Waking Land (2017)
The Memory of Fire (2018)
The Soul of Power (2019)

“Gripping . . . A remarkably mature, balanced addition to the story that avoids the most common flaws of middle books and will leave readers hungry for the conclusion.”Publishers Weekly (starred review) on The Memory of Fire

“Excellent . . . The relatable characters and riveting adventure make this fantasy world very accessible for all, even those who don’t tend to gravitate towards the genre.”Booklist on The Memory of Fire

Callie Bates -9245 copy


Callie Bates is the author of the fantasy novels The Waking LandThe Memory of Fire, and The Soul of Power. She is also a harpist and certified harp therapist, artist, and nature lover.

Her latest writing thing is her Substack newsletter, The Tangled Path.

Get the Latest Book News with Callie's Newsletter!